Back on the horse

Part of my “wood technology” class at UC is a Windsor Chair class. Students, over the academic year and meeting once a week, complete a sack-back chair. Well since there are only three students this year and two instructors they decided we should be able to complete two chairs in the year’s time. Reasonable enough, I suppose.

So last week I completed my very first chair. Almost entirely built and shaped by hand, even used hide glue for assembly. I’m really pretty darned proud of it and had a real sense of accomplishment when I did the final bit of sanding:

In a few minutes I’m leaving for my chair class. We meet every Saturday from 10:00 – 12:30. I’m taking a change of clothes because I have work afterwards and, since I’m starting a new one, I’m probably going to get very sweaty as once again we attack a big white oak log with froe, wedge and axe to rive billets for spindles and the hoop. Back on my shaving horse with drawknife and spokeshaves I go. Giddyap!

Published in: on March 13, 2010 at 2:06 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://crankychipmunk.wordpress.com/2010/03/13/back-on-the-horse/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

